Fair Weather

Fair Week starts tomorrow!  The Fairfield County Fair rocks.  There are waffles and deep-fried everything and taffy and an animal barn.  I know it sounds like an average everyday fair you’d find in any other state, but it’s so not!  It’s awesomer than any of those other fairs, for many reasons.

1.  The people-watching is fairly epic.  We ARE in south-central Ohio, people!  The mullet-to-people ratio is extremely high.

2.  The waffles.  These are not the Belgian Waffles you may be imagining.  These are waffles that are sweet and crunchy and coated with powdered sugar.  They are made by dipping a star-shaped iron into thin batter, then dunking that into the fryer.  The result is heavenly crunchy sweet goodness.

3.  The circular barn on our fairgrounds was a filming location for the movie Brubaker starring Robert Redford.  Okay, so that’s not really a reason to attend the fair, more like a fun-fact about Lancaster, OH.

4.  The entire town smells like fair food.  There’s nothing bad about that.

5.  It’s wholesome family fun!  With carnies!

I signed up to enter some of my baked goods in the fair this year, specifically my brownies and the peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I make.  It cost me $15 to enter, and I have the potential to win up to $6.  BUT!  I get free entry to the fair every day of fair week.  It’s only $5 a day, but if I go for 3 days, I break even.  If I win something for both of my entries, I’d be even farther ahead.  I’m probably going to be oozing fair-grease out of my pours come next Saturday, but there’s nothing like the Fairfield County Fair!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brian
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 10:55:25

    What, no fried cheese curds??? The Minnesota fair has a slight edge. 🙂

    Reply

    • Casey W.
      Oct 11, 2010 @ 15:06:34

      There is deep-fried cheese, but I think it’s in chunks or on a stick. BUT! We do have deep-fried oreos and deep-fried bologna sandwiches. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Brian from TAD Center
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 18:59:40

    Works for me!! Deep fried ANYTHING is a great meal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

