The Show Must Go On!

I woke up utterly exhausted today.  I went to bed around 10 last night and got up at about the normal time (between 5 and 5:30), but it was hell trying to pull myself upright today.  It was one of those mornings that I was so tired I felt sick to my stomach.  It has passed, but it was pretty icky there for a while.  I think that the coffee helped.

Yesterday, we made soft rolls using the recipe that the Inn uses to make them for dinner at the restaurant.  They were indeed soft, and a little sweet.  We made a half batch, but even that tested the capacity of the stand mixers we use in class.  It calls for 7 pounds of flour, so you can imagine how much dough it yields.  My group only has 2 people in it, so we split the rolls between us.  I would guess that I had somewhere around 5 pounds of rolls.  It’s probably more rolls than I’d eat in several months.

We also made semolina dough.  Chef Weber said that he would bake them for us today since they have to retard for 18 hours or something insane like that.  I’m supposed to go pick up my loaf of semolina bread today.  We sprinkled them with black sesame seeds.  It should be a pretty tasty loaf of bread!

Since we have a lot of down-time in the lab, Chef Weber said we could practice tempering and piping chocolate onto templates that he brought.  He explained the method to us, but because of the 2-person group, my lab partner and I did not get to try it.  We also have a shortage of available plugs in the lab.  We have to share a two-plug outlet with the group next to us, so we can only have either our mixer or our scale plugged in at one time.  So, we kind of lose out in that respect.  Next week, I’m going to see if the scale will work without being plugged in, so that we can be a little more efficient.  It’s nice to only have 2 people, though, because it makes it easy to split the baked stuff.

More breads next week, and I think I might take a Saturday class to learn about beer and wine.  It’s this Saturday and next (October 16 and 23), and it seems like it would be a lot of fun.  I think I may also take the mixology class that runs the following 2 Saturdays (October 30 and November 6).  I’m really just trying to stay as busy as I can.  Maybe one of these days, I’ll decide to look for gainful employment!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K.Mercer
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 18:16:00

    Hi Casey,

    I am so glad that you are enjoying yourself!! Please keep up the good work and stay in touch!

    Karah

    Reply

    • Casey W.
      Oct 17, 2010 @ 13:07:11

      Thank you, Karah! I’m having a good time so far. It’s been an adjustment, but I think it will be good in the long run.

      Thank you for your support and encouragement. You mean the world to me!

      –Casey

      Reply

  2. Aaron Z
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 14:37:06

    Perhaps after the beer and wine class you can go be an alcohol snob professionally somewhere, or maybe tend bar a couple of nights a week after the mixology class. I actually thought about tending bar for a while, seems like it would be fun. Also: if you ever have a spare 5 lbs of rolls you need to get rid of, just send them this way… 😛

    Reply

    • Casey W.
      Oct 17, 2010 @ 13:09:22

      I think I’ll actually have some more rolls on Monday! LOL Both my intro classes have me baking these rolls. The beer and wine class, along with mixology and serving alcohol with care count toward a bartending cert they offer at Hocking – I’m kind of thinking about working at a bar at some point to earn money. We’ll see, though! Maybe it will just end up being a way to impress my friends! ha ha! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

