Sunday Update – October 24

I like this title for my Sunday posts.  I hope you all don’t mind the redundant titles.  If I come up with something clever, I’ll mix it up, but I like this for now!

So, I had the beer half of beer and wine yesterday.  It was a lot of fun.  We started out sampling some champagne.  We tried a “true” Champagne (meaning, it came from the Champagne region of France), then an Italian sparkling wine.  The Champagne was a Perrier-Jouet, and the Italian was a Martini and Rossi Asti Spumante.  The differences were in the price and the dryness.  The Champagne was far drier than the Spumante.  The Spumante reminded me of the Reisling we tried last week – lots of apply flavors, very much on the sweet side.

Then, we watched an episode of Modern Marvels from the History Channel, followed by a casual beer tasting.  I tried quite a few beers – Dead Guy Ale, Siberian Night Porter (from an Ohio brewery called Great Lakes), Arrogant Bastard Ale, Dogfish Head’s 90 Minute IPA, Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat, Stone IPA, and Red Stripe.  I’ve had Dogfish Head’s 60 Minute IPA and didn’t care too much for all those hops.  Oddly, I kind of liked the 90 Minute IPA.  It was definitely fruitier to start, then very hoppy.  I have had Red Stripe a couple of times before, but it’s been since I first went to college in the late 90’s so I thought I’d give it another shot.  It’s a pretty good beer.  Nothing I tried really grabbed my attention, though.

We also had to take a final at the end of class.  I am pretty sure I aced it.  It was open notes, but I left the wine handouts from the first class at home, so I didn’t have those to rely on.  Luckily, I usually can remember things if I have read them, so I think I did okay on the small number of wine questions that were on the test.  It was probably 15 questions long, and we had to write out some answers in complete sentences.  Very easy!

In the week ahead, we are doing biscuits, danish, and challah in bread class.  I have a test in nutrition, and a paper on yeast due tomorrow.  The paper is only required to be 1 page, so that shouldn’t be too difficult to knock out before I go to bed tonight.  I have decided that I’m going to drop my communication class, so I have to take care of that tomorrow, too.  I just don’t have the energy or attention span for it right now, and I can probably get transfer credit so I can take a bunch of fun stuff.  I’m thinking of taking swimming at some point, and they offer yoga.  I haven’t looked through all of the possibilities yet, but I’m sure there will be plenty from which to choose.

More to come later in the week!

Leave a Reply

