Monday Monday

Call it boredom, but I’m finding the urge to post a lot these last few days.  I had a really good day today, so far.  It’s only 3 in the afternoon, but it’s been really nice.  I’m starting to feel more comfortable in the kitchen classroom, which is a wonderful thing.  I’m finding that I have a good idea of where things are stored and kept.  I’m getting along well with all my classmates, and I’m settling into a kind of groove.  I think it’s probably fair to say I’m the oldest person in most of my classes.  Because of that, I tend to step into my oldest-child shoes.  It’s a comfortable fit!

I had my Intro to the Baking Industry class this morning first, followed by Breads and Baking Basics.  Intro was a lot of fun today.  We got to make more cinnamon rolls, and Chef Touria let us cut up fruit to improve our knife skills.  We segmented oranges first, then we did pineapple, and some of my group did strawberries, all of which we used to make smoothies.  We didn’t have any yogurt or ice, though, so they weren’t as good as they could have been.  They were still yummy, though!  The cinnamon rolls look better than the ones I made last week in Breads, but I haven’t tried them yet.  Everyone in the group said that they were way better than the ones we made on Wednesday.  We used the soft roll dough, and just made cinnamon rolls out of that instead of the sweet dough we used last week.

I have been having some sad days, lately.  I miss everyone terribly.  It’s been a difficult transition, despite my sunny posts.  I know that I’ll rebound eventually, but there have been a lot of days that I’ve doubted that.  There have also been days that I’ve doubted my ability to finish this program.  It’s something I’ve wanted to do for many years, but I’m unsure of myself now that I’m actually doing it.  I know I present an exterior of confidence, but I have a lot of doubts about myself.  It doesn’t help that it’s a rainy day today, making my mood a little overcast like the skies.

Even with the doubts and sadness, I have had a good day so far.  I just wish some of you were here with me!  Posting about my adventures is fun, but nothing beats chatting with my friends.  Some of you can expect phone calls in the coming days!  🙂

Leave a Reply

