Sunday Updates – October 31

Happy Halloween!  I’ve never really been a huge fan of Halloween, really.  I liked the candy, but walking around in the cold for hours?  No thank you!  I don’t really like dealing with costumes.  They always seem to be grossly uncomfortable and ill-fitting.  And, I’m not a big drinker, so going to a party to get completely shit-faced doesn’t hold much appeal for me.  It’s fun on occasion, but I don’t usually see the point.

Speaking of drunkenness, I took the first of two mixology classes yesterday.  It was pretty good.  We learned how to pour shots.  We did what they call “free pouring,” which means that you pour by count, and if you count the same every time, you should end up with consistently poured shots of the same amount every time you pour.  It helps you to pour multiples, too.  We tried 5 different things:  Frangelico; a coffee liqueur; Bailey’s; an off-brand Irish Cream; and Peach Schnapps.  Next week, we do a “practical” exam and Chef Steadman said he’d make us a layered drink (think Tequila Sunrise) and frozen drinks.  He’s going to show us a way to make frozen drinks so that there’s never anything left over in the pitcher.  He also said that he’d let us try his favorite whiskey – Bushmills 21 – and some South American Rum.

I decided that I’m going to drop the Comm class.  I just can’t find the motivation to do it right now.  I can do the Math class (even though I’ve had math up to Calculus at other schools) because there’s a purpose to it.  I’ll learn about costing and business-y math stuff.  The Comm class seems pointless right now.

I got the grade back in my Sanitation class – I got a 98.  Chef Meredith said that there were a few questions that weren’t in the book, so she added 5 percentage points.  I got 3 questions wrong (probably the 3 that weren’t in the book), so I ended up with a 98.  I would have liked it better if she had just thrown those three questions out instead of adding 5 percent, but I’ll take a 98 over a 93 any day.  On my last Nutrition test, I got a 97, which gives me a 100 average so far.  In Math I have a 98 average.  My baking classes haven’t really had any graded assignments yet, so I don’t know what I have there.  I have an exam in Breads and a paper due in Intro to Baking tomorrow.

Now, on to other news!  I saw the movie Red with my cousin on Friday evening.  I liked it quite a bit, but I have fairly simple requirements for a movie – it has to have decent dialogue, it has to have a few laughs, and shit has to blow up.  Red hit all of the (admitted low) marks, so I liked it.  I just love a good action movie.  This one had Helen Miren firing a .50 caliber machine gun, which was pretty awesome.  Really, I have the movie tastes of a 15-year-old boy (minus the interest in cheerleader movies).  I like action and super-hero movies, and I like comedies.  I do not really care for the typical “chick flick” mostly because I hate crying.  I do enough of that right now; I don’t need a movie to help me, thank you very much!

I am going to go see the newest Harry Potter movie with the same cousin in a few weeks.  He is a big fan of Harry Potter, as am I.  He told me that he’s going to re-read the series in preparation for seeing this next one.  I thought that sounded like a pretty good idea, so I’m going to do that, too.  I got the first two in the series at my local library.  I’ve requested the next two, and my nearest branch has the final 3, so I should be set.  It comes out on November 19th, and I think I can get through all 7 books in that time, especially since I’ve already read them all.

As I write this, my dad and two of my brothers (Joe and Richie) are running in the Marine Corps Marathon.  I had planned on running it with them, but life got in my way a bit, and I just couldn’t seem to make the time to run before my move, and I haven’t been running since I came back to Ohio.  Although running (and exercise in general) probably would be the best thing for me, I have a lot on my mind, and running is hard for me to get done.  Running has always been very soothing for me; it clears my head and allows me some perspective.  It’s meditative for me.  But, my depression and laziness have been winning, so I haven’t been running.  It’s funny that the depression would be helped if I were running regularly, but it’s the depression that’s keeping me from doing it!  I did run on the bike path after class one day two weeks ago, but I haven’t done it since.  I’ve decided that I’m going to commit to taking work-out clothes to school at least 2 times every week, along with things to shower with when applicable.  I just need to get a duffle bag out and pack it.  If I pack it the night before, I should be able to make it happen.

I’m thinking about getting a new iPod.  The one I have is probably 7 years old, and it no longer holds a charge.  I’m thinking I’ll get a Nano.  I don’t really need a lot of space, and the others are just so expensive!  I should probably get a job before I buy an expensive new toy, though.  I still have savings, but the money is going to run out.  I just don’t want to work.  This break from employment has been pretty nice, really.  I’m not accountable to anyone but myself, which I kind of like.  I’d also like to not completely drain my savings, though.

I’ll write again next Wednesday or Thursday, if not earlier!  Have a lovely week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

