Sunday Updates – November 28

I survived Thanksgiving!  It was a pretty fun one this year.  I did get a little stressed out at one point, not because of all that I had to do but because people would not leave the kitchen and let me cook.  At one point there were 4 people in there, all in the way of what I was trying to do.  I know that they were trying to help to make sure that I didn’t get too stressed, but their presence made me more stressed than I ever would have been had they just left me alone in the kitchen.  For a big production like this, it’s much easier if I do much of it myself because I know where I’m going and what steps I need to take to get there.

I am happy to report that I did run the 5K Thanksgiving morning, and something incredible happened – I won my age group!  That NEVER happens!  I was the fastest woman aged 30 – 34.  I was shocked.  I ran it in 29:30, which I was very happy with.  It’s not the 22:00 and faster that I was doing in high school, but I’m happy that I ran it in under 30 minutes.

I skipped Friday’s party.  I went to my step-aunt’s deli/bakery to help them decorate for Christmas.  It was an okay time.  One of my dad’s brothers, his wife, and 5 of their kids were there, along with my step-aunt’s oldest daughter.  We got everything done pretty quickly, which was a little surprising.  The reason I skipped the party I planned to attend is that none of my siblings stayed in town for it, and I didn’t want to go by myself.  I know that’s a pretty lame excuse, but I wasn’t feeling super-comfortable with the idea when the time came.  It’s mostly all my brothers’ friends getting together in a house and getting completely plastered and being dumb boys.  Plus, Adam’s girlfriend Kelly wasn’t going to be there, so I couldn’t count on any female support when I got there.

Saturday, I spent much of the day on the couch watching Star Wars Episodes 1, 2, and 3, then I went out for sushi with a friend.  Those three Star Wars movies are pretty much flaming piles of crap, especially the first one.  I just want to punch that kid for his bad acting throughout the entire thing.  Next time I’ll watch most of it without the sound because there are some pretty bad-ass fight/action scenes, but the dialogue is awful.  I didn’t think that I had watched all three, but I guess I have because things were familiar.  I guess it boils down to me being a traditionalist and liking Episodes 4, 5, and 6 more than anything new.  The sushi was pretty good.  Not the best I’ve ever had, but it was decent.  The restaurant we went to had karaoke, too, which was…interesting.  There were a few good singers, but the rest were just painful.  We didn’t sing, but we were there for some of the singing of others.

Today, I went to the baptism of my friend Allison’s little girl, Cecilia.  It was very nice.  They had a little get-together afterward at my favorite pizza place (Donato’s), and I had a great time.  I saw Emily and Megan, and the four of us (me, Emily, Megan, and Allison) made some loose plans for this coming Friday – we’re going to go up and do the zoo lights in Columbus.  It should be fun!

This week, we’re doing a dry-run of the cupcakes that we’re making for our bakeshop project, and we’re making cookies.  We may also be making cream puffs, which my parents are going to be thrilled about!  My dad loves cream puffs.  I’ll let you know how things go later in the week!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 14:26:15

    Ya, I was pissing off Adam too this Thanksgiving but it was his fault for getting all crazy while cooking. LOL, next time I’ll go to work while he cooks ;-D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

