Sunday Updates – December 5

So, it’s Sunday again!  Time for the weekly Sunday update from your favorite baking student!

I’m pleased to report that the leg/foot/ankle that I thought was horribly broken by my fall on Thursday is hurting much less with each passing day.  There is still some pain of course, and there probably will be for a while, but today it’s more like a charlie-horse in my calf than the “Oh my God, my ankle is probably shattered” pain I had on Friday.  I keep hitting the scrapes on my knuckle, though.  The scrapes are isolated to the outside of my left hand, and the hardest-hit area is the fist-knuckle of my pinky finger.  I keep smacking it into the edges of things.  It’s pretty annoying, so I’m going to try to pay more attention to it.  That will work for about an hour before I slip back into my unwitting disregard for that hand.  It is my left after all.  If it were my right, I’d be more careful.  Who am I kidding?  I’m rarely as careful as I should be!  I wouldn’t constantly be sporting lame injuries if I were!

I’ve got a fair amount of homework that I have to get done today.  I need to type up the info for the bakeshop project we’re doing in Intro and send it out to my group to make sure they don’t have any objections.  I’m guessing they won’t, but I want to at least send it to them so they can see it.  I also need to write a paper about Port.  There was an article in the NY Times this week about it, so I’m going to use that as a source.  I’ve also got to put together a couple of PowerPoint slides for the Nutrition presentation that my partner and I are doing this week.  Rebecca is making some “diet-friendly” chocolate chip cookies that we found in a cookbook I got at the library.  We were going to do muffins, but we settled on cookies as a little easier to make ahead and transport.  Next, I have to study a little for my Breads practical on Wednesday.  We are each tasked with making Challah.  We all have to make a single recipe of it, which we scaled out last week.  Then, we’re to put the bread together and bake it without the benefit of the written recipe.  Chef Weber will be collecting them at the door.  I want to make sure I have the order of the additions and the proofing/benching/baking times down well before Wednesday.  Finally, I have to study for my Sanitation exam.  It’s a certification exam, and I really want to do well.  I have a 99.7 percent in that class (I don’t know where the other 0.3 went), so I’m not terribly worried about my grade.  I do want to get a high score, though.

I am feeling a tiny bit harried now that the end of the quarter is looming so close.  I feel a little bit like there’s a scramble to get everything squeezed in to these final days.  I’m glad that my Intro professor is letting us turn in and do the practical for our final a week early, though.  My group is taking full advantage of that!

I got my haircut yesterday, and I had the girl add more blonde.  I decided to keep it short for now, which means trims every 4 weeks, but I’m okay with that.  The short cut is pretty easy, though it is a little more work than long hair.  With long hair I have to do exactly 2 things:  wash, then scrunch with some curl-activating goo.  I’m enjoying the short hair, though, which makes me less annoyed by the effort I have to put in to making it look leave-the-house-worthy.  It’s more work but also more fun!

I went to my old grade school yesterday to pick up poinsettias for my mom.  I saw my 5th grade teacher, Mrs. Foura, and one of the women who taught 2nd grade, Miss Larger.  They were surprised and happy to see me, which was kind of cool.  I haven’t been back there in a long time, so seeing them all again made me feel a little nostalgic.  A couple of the kids helped me carry all of the plants to the car, and I swear one of them was the son of someone I went to school with.  He looked just like him.  I didn’t ask, though, because I didn’t really like that guy.  He was a bit of an arrogant prick, and he used to argue with the teachers and needlessly interrupt class, which has never been something I appreciate.  I think he thought it made him look smarter – it just made him look like an ass.

Coming up this week is exams and a second date with the sushi guy (his name is Jason).  He’s nice enough, and he’s fun to hang out with, but I don’t think I like him as much as he likes me.  I’d like to count him among my friends, but we’ll see.  It’s been so long since I’ve dated that it’s a little weird.  I don’t quite know what to do.  Like at all.  I’ve been taking the completely honest route, which I think is best.  I don’t want anyone being surprised by anything about my current situation.  I also don’t want anyone to think there are options for a serious relationship.  Basically, I don’t want anyone to feel like I’ve cheated them in any way by giving them false hope of some kind of future with me when there isn’t any.

I have a little surprised by the up-swing in attention, though.  I’ve always thought of myself as an awkward and rather goofy nerd at whom no one would look twice–you know, your basic ugly nerd girl.  That is clearly not how others see me, which is another thing that’s kind of weird for me.  I’ve never fully believed that I’m anything but that ugly nerd I was as a kid.  I generally try to project a much more confident, self-assured attitude than I really have.  The act started to become more of a reality for me, but during the last 7 or 8 months, my confidence and self-worth were shaken–hard–and it’s been a real struggle to get them back.  I’m not fully there yet, but I’m slowly getting my awesome back.  I’ve decided that I need to stop tempering and censoring myself, though.  I’m giving myself the permission to be as silly and loud and me as I want.  No more holding back!  Watch the F out, world!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 12:56:18

    Hey Awesome!

    So you are keeping a short hairstyle – very cool, you know I love short hair. So no more Pink? I think the biggest challenge is finding a good hair stylist. I recently switched salons and I like the girl but dang she is always in a depressed mood – I think I might need to suggest some freakin meds for her!

    As for the awesome thing, glad to hear that you are getting it back. You are awesome for so many reasons but mostly because you follow the golden rule so we can’t help but like you.

    Reply

  2. Casey W.
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 15:12:33

    Hi, Carol!

    I would love to give you a big hug right now! You seriously made my day with this comment. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

    Yes, short is in! No pink just because I’ll be working for my uncle, and I can’t have pink hair at his firm. I was going to my brothers’ friend Kathleen, but I went in early one day and got another girl, Adrena, and she’s awesome. She’s the one who suggested adding blonde to what I already had. It sucks to have a depressed stylist! If you don’t like what you do, make some life changes, sister! 🙂

    Love and hugs coming your way!
    –Casey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

