Saturday Updates – December 11

Okay, I couldn’t wait until tomorrow.  You guys know I’m impatient when I’m excited about things!

I’ve got very little planned for the remainder of this weekend.  Mostly just studying.  Today, I am going to make bacon-peanut brittle.  It’s the “dry run” where I try the recipe and see if it’s any good.  If it’s good, my dad asked me if I would make it for inclusion in their annual Christmas baskets to their friends.  They started out doing this when I was in junior high or so, and I remember hating it.  They made all of us kids come along for the delivery, and we each had to take a turn carrying a basket to the door.  And, we each had to wear the Santa hat for the walk up.  I hated it because some of their friends are the parents of kids I went to school with but was not friends with.  My internal monologue when something like:  “What if one of them answered the door?!  I’d be humiliated!  I’ll never hear the end of it!  MY LIFE WILL BE OVER!!!”  (What can I say?  I was 14.)  But, my point is that it’s kind of cool that he asked me if I would make something to include in the baskets.  It’s gotten to be something that all of their friends look forward to and talk about with excitement during the months immediately before and for some time after.

My Sanitation final is over, but I’m not entirely sure how I did.  I think I did well enough to get the requisite 80 percent, but I’m not sure if I did much better than that.  I was worried about this test, and I did study, but there were still things on the test of which I was a little unsure.  I guess that sort of thing is bound to happen, especially in a class with as much minutia as Sanitation.

I had a Math test on Thursday which I’m fairly confident got me another 100.  I have the final on Tuesday, which should be pretty easy, too.  It took me a couple of weeks to find my legs, but now that I’ve found them, I’m remembering how enjoyable math can be!  If I can find some, I may take a couple of Chemistry and Physics classes for fun.  Part of what I’ve always liked about the hard sciences is the puzzle aspect, and that’s primarily because of the math.  So, I guess I like math.  Weird, huh?  I’ve told you all that I’m a nerd at heart, so there’s your proof!  (And, I made a math pun, to boot!  Hee hee!)

I had my Nutrition presentation on Wednesday evening, and my partner and I got a grade of 100!  I was very excited about that because we did not prepare as fully as I feel like others did.  Many of them did honest-to-goodness research, while I mostly just talked off the top of my head.  Our topic was diet and exercise, something that I’ve been reading and learning about for several years now.  I think what helped our grade the most was the abundance of visual aids.  We needed one, but over-achiever that I am, I brought three.  I went to the library and just started pulling books off the shelves to bring in; I made some yummy little muffins from The Eating Well Diet book; and I took screen grabs of some of the Web sites I use for tracking my food and exercise.  It went great.  Rebecca (my partner) was nervous, but I had her read from note cards and the slides, and she did really well.  My over-confidence at the front of the room helped her relax a little, I think.  Being up there, doing my “The Famous Casey Welsh” impression, made me realize that I totally miss being at the front of a classroom.  When I first started doing training, I would never have thought it, but now that I don’t do that anymore, I miss it terribly!  The last thing in that class is the final, which I will be studying for this weekend and through the week.  It’s another certification final, so that’s kind of nerve-wracking.

I have my written Breads final on Monday.  I got a 102 on the mid-term, and I’ve been to every class, so I think that my grade should be an A as long as I don’t seriously F-up the final.  I have a study guide, so I’m going to read over some of the terms in the book and jot down some notes.  It’s fairly straight-forward, though, so I’m not really worried.  I will study, but it won’t be anything near as stressful as the Sanitation final!

I had date number 2 with Jason last night.  We got Thai food, which was okay but not great, and we went to the book store because I had some gift cards burning a hole in my pocket.  He seemed more relaxed this time, though I feel like I still did most of the talking.  Not a difficult thing for me, to be sure, but I’d like him to be more engaged in the conversation.  He did admit that he is shy and takes a long time to relax, which I can understand.  I used to be like that, so I remember what it’s like.

It looks like my long and arduous application process to work for my uncle may finally be over soon!  His assistant called me yesterday to ask me to come down and pick up the instruction sheet for getting finger-printed.  According to the paper, this is the final step in the hiring process.  Apparently, because I’ll be working for an investment firm, the SEC requires it, so I made an appointment for first thing Monday morning up in Columbus to get my fingerprints taken.  Although I was looking forward to sleeping in on Monday morning, I’m looking forward to the possibility of a paycheck even more.  I’ll be leaving the house at 7, like usual.  My appointment is at 8:30, and it probably won’t take 90 minutes to get up there, but I like to allow for plenty of time, especially when it’s my first time going somewhere.

The quarter is almost over, and I have quite a bit planned over the next couple of weeks.  Some out-of-town friends from high school (Kelly and Margie) will be coming to Lancaster to see their families, so I’ll be getting together with them.  I have dinner plans with a local friend from high school (Anna), and I’m going to Cincinnati next Sunday to see yet another friend (Angel) with more friends (Emily, and Allison and baby Cecilia).  I need to find out who is driving next Sunday, though.  I don’t mind driving, but I’ll need to tidy up the old Casey-mobile.  We are going to Jungle Jim’s in Fairfield, OH.  It’s the most incredible international grocery store in the world!  It’s huge, and I could spend all day there.  I seriously start to salivate just thinking about it.  They have different sections for different types of cuisine, like Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Spanish, etc.  They have an incredible cheese section, and some pretty decent produce.  It’s so cool!  I am psyched!  I’m going to have to restrain myself and try not to spend hundreds of dollars there, though.  That’s the danger of setting me loose in a store like that.

That’s all for now!  I’m off to make “Pig Candy”!

Leave a Reply

