Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow

Tomorrow is the last day of the quarter!  It’s finally here!  I haven’t been counting down to it or anything, but I feel as though I’ve been heaving myself toward it since the end of September.  This quarter has been a lot of fun, and I have made tons of new friends.  I can’t wait for next quarter to start to see everyone again!

I have my final session with my therapist (I’ve decided to start calling her my Life Coach) tomorrow at 1:30.  Then, I have my Nutrition exam at 5:30.  It shouldn’t be too bad.  I’ve been keeping up with the assigned reading and I have done really well so far in the class.  I just hope that it carries over!

In between getting ready for finals, I’ve been doing a pretty fair amount of reading.  I am on the 5th book in the Harry Potter series, and I hope to be finished with all 7 very soon so that my cousin Johnny and I can go see the next movie.  I was thrilled to find out that he’s a fan!  It will be good to have someone to go see the movie with instead of having to wait until it comes out on DVD or begging (read:  bribing) a sibling to come with me.  I’ve also been trying to catch up on my New Yorker subscription, and I started getting Harper’s, which is monthly and much easier to stay abreast of without feeling overwhelmed.

We found out a couple of weeks ago that my sister is going to have a boy.  It should be interesting.  Clara’s already banned me from contact with the baby without “adult supervision,” to which I responded that babies love me, and I’m just trying to make her baby as awesome as possible.  I have suggested that the baby’s middle name be Hazard, but she hasn’t responded to my text on that yet, so I’m guessing it’s a no.  I think that we’re all (my siblings, that is) pretty excited about the baby because Clara may be the only reproducer among us.  Let’s face it, I’ll be approaching the baby-making danger zone in a few very short years, and I doubt I’ll have the desire until it’s too late.  My brothers don’t seem too keen on the idea of progeny.  So, Clara may be the only chance my parents have at grandkids.

Clara is now engaged, as well, which is wonderful!  Although my own marriage ended in heartbreak, I’m still thrilled to hear about happy relationships from other people.  It kind of gives me hope that maybe things will turn out okay for me in the long run.  I’m sure they will.  It’s just hard to remember to think positively sometimes.  My Life Coach has been immeasurably helpful in that regard.  Not only has she helped me through some difficult and painful emotions, she’s been giving me some good coping methods to deal with the bad feelings as they come up.

I had to drive to Columbus on Monday morning to get finger-printed, which was a treat, especially in the snow.  I did not swerve or have any scary moments, but traffic was horrible!  Starting at Pickerington and ending right after the 270 on-ramps, traffic moved at about 10 miles an hour.  I left here at around 6:30 or so, and I just made my appointment, which was scheduled for 8:30.  The finger-printing itself took all of 10 minutes, and that includes the time it took her to start up her computer, clean off the scanning machine, and make idle chit-chat with me for several minutes.  But, it’s done!  Hopefully, I’ll hear from my uncle this week about when I can start training and things.  I’m not holding my breath, but it would be nice to be able to get the training out of the way during my break.

Leave a Reply

