Sunday Updates – December 26

First thing’s first!  My Sanitation grade finally posted, and I’m happy to say that I earned an A!  I have all A’s, with one A-, giving me a 3.984 GPA.  The A- is in a 1-credit class, so it’s not as damaging as it would have been on one of the 3- or 4-credit classes.  Dean’s list here I come!

Yesterday was Christmas.  Merry belated Christmas to all of you!  As always, it fell far below expectations.  I’ve worked hard over the past few years to not let myself get too excited about anything, and since I’ve let myself off the proverbial leash, I’m finding that more difficult to maintain.  I love holidays, so it’s very difficult for me not to get excited.  It usually leads to disappointment because my idealized mental image is far more than anything could possibly live up to.  I don’t blame anyone for my high expectations but myself, though I’d love to have a Christmas where I don’t feel let down by it all.  Adding the break-up of my marriage to the mix certainly doesn’t help!

All of my siblings are in town for the holiday, which is a double-edged sword, really.  On the one hand, it’s nice to see them all, and they are a lot of fun.  On the other, they can be obnoxious ass-holes.  I’m usually the odd one out, which I’m used to, but it can be pretty damn sucky.  My oldest brother is pretty cruel when he doesn’t like what I’m doing, and my middle brother will usually follow suit.  My sister will occasionally join in on the Casey-bashing, as well, depending on her mood at the time.  My youngest brother is usually the only one who doesn’t turn on me, so that’s something.  They really upset me last night, but I find that the best tactic is to ignore them.  It’s not always easy when they’re screaming at me for something that is my sister’s fault.  It’s like my childhood all over again.

I went to the lawyer’s office on Tuesday afternoon.  It was productive, if painful, and I’m kind of glad to have it over with.  The lawyer that I chose is a woman who is best friends with one of my mom’s cousins.  I feel like I made a good choice with her.  She seems like she genuinely cares about me and my case, and she’s not afraid of confrontation, which I guess you have to be when you’re a lawyer!

I’ve not been running, still.  Since my little tumble, I haven’t wanted to risk further injury.  Though I’m usually very impatient with the healing process, I feel like this has the potential for permanent damage, so I’m reluctant to do anything strenuous.  Plus, if I’ve been on my feet a lot in a day, my foot/lower leg tend to ache.  It’s pretty mild pain, but it’s still annoying, and it tells me that I’m not ready to do more than walking right now.  I am going to give myself 6 to 8 weeks to let it heal.  That means I won’t be running again until the end of January.  I’ve been itching to get back out on the road, but I am positive that I’ll just regret it if I go out too soon, so for now I’m staying sort of sedentary.  Once classes start, the time will fly by, and I’ll be running again before I know it!  Running has always been a good tool for me if I’m feeling angry or upset – it evens me out and calms me down.  To not be able to run right now has been difficult for me emotionally, but I’ve been doing a decent job of staying positive despite that.

Today is my Grandpa Welsh’s Christmas gathering.  It should be chaotic and irritating but hopefully there will be some bright spots.  I’m not really looking forward to it, but it will be good to see my extended family.  I’m sure I’ll have some fun, despite my current unhappy mood.  There’s usually something amusing going on.  The trick is to stay out of the fray as much as possible.  It’s not always easy, but I’ll just look for the more sober individuals.  And by that, I mean I’ll avoid my brothers as much as possible.

I think I’m going to go make myself some eggs and rice for breakfast.  I drank a lot of coffee this morning, so I’m starting to feel pretty hungry!

Leave a Reply

