Fun for the Whole Family

It’s my last week of winter break, and I don’t feel like I’ve done much.  Sure, I have been to a few parties and seen a lot of my friends, but it seems a little like I’ve just been messing around at home.  I think I needed it, though.

Christmas day and the day after were stressful, angry times.  My oldest brother (Joe) pissed me off in a lot of little ways, and I’ve decided that I’m no longer going to put up with his dick-head behavior.  I’m tired of everyone accommodating and explaining it away by saying, “That’s just Joe.”  Somehow he can’t treat people with any kind of respect, and I’m tired of it.  I think that the break-up of my marriage and the subsequent exploration of what I am at my core are making my tolerance for toxicity in my life much lower.  I’m not willing to allow people in who are depressive or angry.  I absorb emotion, and I no longer want those emotions to dominate everything I do and every decision I make.

I went to a hockey game last night.  It was a lot of fun!  I went with my Aunt Ann and Uncle John, three of their children (plus a boyfriend of one of them), and my sister and her fiance.  We went to Buca Di Beppo first, which is in the complex around the arena where the game was.  There were some fights, which I enjoyed.  There was also a guy in a bright blue unitard, complete with a hood that he could zip up over his head.  Unitard man was, unfortunately, wearing his gold watch over the get-up, which just added to the absurdity of the entire thing.  He apparently had dressed up to try to attract the attention of this blimp thing that flies around the stands during one of the intermissions and drops Blue Jackets paraphernalia into the stands.  Pretty dumb if you ask me, especially since he probably spent more money to rent that suit than whatever he might have gotten would have been worth.  The home team won, which was pretty great since this was my first game!

I think that I’m going to go out today.  My godmother gave me a gift card to Sur La Table, which I would like to use.  I’m not sure that it’s safe for me to go into a kitchen store, given my fetish for kitchen stuff, but this trip may just be an exploratory one.

Leave a Reply

