Sunday Updates – January 2

I know it’s a day late, but happy New Year!  I am hoping that 2011 is a good year.  2010 turned out to be a dud, so 2011 is bound to be better!  I don’t usually do resolutions, mostly because they always seem so vague.  However, I am going to set some goals for myself this year.  I don’t know what they are going to be yet, but I have some general ideas.  I want to be more positive, and I want to get into shape.  I want to be more organized in my personal life.  I also want good mental health this year, which the getting into shape will help me achieve — exercise (especially running) has always been good for me in reaching some mental clarity.  Finally, I want to figure out what it is I want in life, love, work, and friendship.  I have a feeling that this last one is going to be a long process that will probably never be finished, but I’d like to start working on it.  I don’t think I’ve ever really sat down and thought about it, and with my current state of flux, it might be a good idea to at least start to have an outline.

It’s quiet in my parents’ house again.  Everyone has gone home.  Richie is probably getting on his plane right now, and everyone else has been gone for at least a few days.  It’s just me and my parents in the house, again.  The quiet is nice.  It makes me look forward to the day that I’ll be able to move out of their house and have my own space.

I went to a New Year’s Eve party on Friday night.  It was at Richie’s best friend’s (Wolfgang’s) house.  It was a lot of fun, and I talked to a guy named Gerard who is a chef.  He went to Hocking but apparently didn’t finish for whatever reason.  I mentioned that I’m doing Baking but have been thinking about adding the Culinary degree to my plan, and he said that it would be a really good idea.  He put into words what I had been thinking for myself — the regular culinary stuff will help my baking.  It’s kind of the opposite of what most people do.  Most people do the Culinary degree and then add the Baking degree later on.  But, I may as well get the most out of this while I can.

Speaking of school, classes start tomorrow.  I’m pretty excited to get back at it and have something to occupy my time again!  Just during this 2 1/2 week break, I’ve gotten pretty lax in my sleeping, eating, and general habits.  I’ve been staying up and sleeping in as late as I want.  I’ve been eating random stuff at random times.  I’ve not been reading much at all; my entertainment has mostly consisted of TV and movies.  I think my brain needed the time off, but I’m ready to whip it back into shape.  I’m going to start chipping away at my reading list, and I’m going to get through the issues of The New Yorker that have been backing up over the last couple of months.  I’m made a sizeable dent in the stack, but there are still probably half a dozen that I haven’t read.  Once I’m current in them, it should be pretty easy to stay up-to-date.  I also get Harper’s, but that’s easier to stay up on because it’s monthly.  The New Yorker is weekly, which can lead to what I’ve got going on right now, which is a stack of back-issues that I haven’t yet made it through.  I could stop my subscription, but it’s a point of pride for me that I read The New Yorker.  I’ve been a subscriber on-and-off since I was 16, and I’d like to keep it that way.  It will be hard to justify the expense this year, but I enjoy it, so I’ll find a way to keep it.

I’ve got some chores I want to get done today:  clean my room, clean out my car, and go through my clothes to see if there’s anything I can toss.  I’m sure I won’t get through all of it, but I’m going to start with my room so that I can at least de-clutter a little bit.  It’s starting to feel a little claustrophobic in here.  I’ll post later this week to let you all know how my classes are going!

Leave a Reply

