From the Great Beyond

I had my first real Classical Pastries class yesterday.  We made a Gateau St-Honore, or in English Cake of St. Honore, but the French is more fun to say!  It’s starts with a disk of puff pastry with pate a choux piped on top, which is baked, along with profiteroles, or tiny cream puffs.  The cream puffs end up on the finished cake, glued on with caramel, but they get baked alongside.  After the cream puffs are glued on, we put down some pastry cream followed by Chantilly cream.  It’s very pretty.   I took a picture, but I can’t find the cord that connects my camera to my computer so that I can post it.  I’ve been looking for it for months, and I think at this point I’m going to have to buy a new cord for the darn thing.

It’s so frustrating living out of boxes, especially when I can’t find the little things I just know I packed.  I have been feeling better about it lately, though.  Instead of being enraged, I’m just mildly annoyed, which is a huge improvement.  One of my goals for this year is to leave things that belong in the past in the past.  Living out of boxes is something that I’m dealing with because of an event in the past, so I’m trying to keep that in mind whenever I get frustrated that I can’t find something in my many boxes.  And, I’m also reminding myself that I can just buy another one if I can’t find something, especially if it’s something small like a camera cord or pencil leads!

This evening I have another meeting for Baking Lab, but I don’t have anything scheduled until then.  However, I need to go find a toolbox of some kind for all of the baking tools that I’m going to need to start transporting to and from class.  It’s a little strange to think of them as tools like the kind you’d usually put in a toolbox, but I suppose they are.  They are the tools of the craft, much like hammers, screwdrivers, and measuring tapes are tools for carpenters and builders.  And, some of them actually do come from the wood shop, like microplanes.  I’d like to try to get one in pink, but I don’t think I’ll be able to find it.

This quarter is a little different than last quarter because I don’t get to ride down to Nelsonville with my cousin.  It was nice to have someone to chat with on the ride down once a week, and it was good to have something to do other than read or study in the library.  Our schedules don’t overlap really at all this quarter, which is a bit of a bummer.  It works out okay, though because I’ll probably end up doing hours in the Inn’s kitchen before and after classes some days, so I’d have to drive myself those days anyway.

To tell the truth, I’m a little nervous about this quarter.  I am unsure of my ability to keep up my A’s since so much depends on the practical stuff.  I’m going to try not to worry about it and just have fun, though!

Leave a Reply

