Busy Little Bee

I feel like I’ve had very little time for anything besides school.  It’s been pretty tiring, but I’m starting to really enjoy myself again.  I’m slipping back into the groove of being in classes.

I know I’ve written about this before, but I am honestly shocked by how much attention I get.  Almost all my classmates know my name, and they all generally seem to like me and want to be around me.  Maybe this has always been the case but wasn’t as clear to me in the past?  Maybe through this life change, I’ve started to allow myself to actually take note of how I’m viewed by others?  Whatever the case is, I kind of like it.  I hope it keeps up.  It’s fun to be popular.

This week has been pretty uneventful.  I worked in the production kitchen on Tuesday afternoon and had my baking lab meeting that evening.  Wednesday was my day to work in my uncle’s office, and I made dinner last night.  It was pretty simple – just some rice, miso soup, and egg rolls.  Though I made the rice and soup myself, the egg rolls came out of a box in the freezer.  When I was in Louisville last September, I picked up a package of miso paste from this restaurant supply store down there.  I’ve made miso soup twice now, and it’s actually become a frequent request.  My mom asks me to make it for her at least once a month, if not more.  It’s super easy, and it’s the perfect soup for cold nights since it’s so brothy and fragrant.  I haven’t been putting in the tofu because I always make it on a whim, but maybe the next time I’ll have my act together enough to put tofu on the shopping list.  I’ll make that and some buckwheat noodles and maybe some salmon.  Yummy!

Today, I worked in the production kitchen all morning again then I went on to my yeast dough class.  I worked in the dish area for a couple of hours, then Jay (the head baker) asked me to make a sugar-free apple pie.  I had to leave before it was done, but it was almost there when I left, and it looked good when I peaked in at it.  In yeast dough class, we made white pan bread, hard rolls, and cuban rolls.  Chef Thompson surprised us by having a brisket for us to eat with our rolls.  Jeff (one of my classmates) put some of the jus from the pan and some black pepper in with the shredded meat.  It was awesome.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had meat that perfect.  I had mine on a cuban roll with some dijon mustard and some of the jus.  It really hit the spot!

We are experiencing a good amount of snowfall this evening, so I don’t know if I’ll have my classical pastries class tomorrow morning.  I’m guessing I will, but it sure would be nice not to have to go down there in the snow and icky road conditions.  The roads were just clearing from the last snow we got!  I’ll just leave here 30 minutes early in the morning to be on the safe side.  That’s what I did last time, and it worked out perfectly.  I’m only scheduled to work in the production kitchen until 5 tomorrow, which is earlier than last Friday, so I can probably suck it up!  More on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

