Land of Misfit Bakers

So, my spring break ends on Monday.  I thought things would calm down for the week, but they did not.  Silly of me, I know!

My finals all went really well.  I had a minor melt-down before my cakes class, thinking that I was going to fail because I’m not very good at cake decorating, and since I was going to fail, I may as well just quit school and go find a “normal” job somewhere and go back to being my old, mediocre self and find some nice person to marry and have my required 2.5 kids.  But then, my chef told me I was being absurd (in so many words), and I calmed down enough to pull out a “pretty good” cake with G-clef motifs.  It wasn’t all that great, but it was better than I could have done 10 weeks ago, which really was the goal of the class.  Despite my freak-out, I got A’s in all of my classes.  So, I really had nothing to worry about at.  At all.

About 2 weeks ago, my computer stopped turning on.  It is an older computer, probably 4 years old, and the power cord works just fine.  I know this because I tested it on my parents’ computer.  So, there’s some internal power thingy that’s not working properly.  It’s pretty frustrating, especially since I could have gotten a new computer while I was still in Maryland and not have had this problem.  I decided instead to just make do with what I had and now (less than 7 months later) I’m probably going to have to buy a new computer when I can scrape together the money.  I’m frustrated with myself for being so short-sighted about so many things when I was leaving Maryland.  I wish the me of right now could go back and tell the wounded me that I need to stand up for myself a little bit more.  If only I could bend space and time!

My sister’s second baby shower was last Sunday.  It went really well, I think.  We had a good turn-out, and everyone seemed to have a pretty good time.  Some of the in-laws were a little snooty, but you’ll have that in every crowd.  I made jerk sauce, which was really good.  It was super-strong before I put it on the chicken, but after it had been sitting on the chicken in the crock pot for a while, it mellowed and was delicious.  I also made banana cupcakes with coconut frosting.  My grad advising buddies know what those are like!  I toasted the coconut this time, to give them a little bit of a prettier look.

Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday of this past week, I was attending the ACF Northeast Regional Conference as a student volunteer.  I mostly drove a van for Monday and Tuesday.  Wednesday, we actually got to help some of the chefs who were running the sessions.  It was a blast, and I made some new friends!  I feel a little bit like we were the red-headed step-children of the volunteers, but we all still had a good time.

Thursday, I went down to Nelsonville and cleaned up the remnants of the desserts we took up for the dessert table on Monday night.  Friday, I worked for my uncle, and today, I’m running some errands.  Tomorrow and Monday, I don’t have anything to do, which is going to be really nice.  It’s the first time in a few weeks that I haven’t had some kind of obligation to which to attend.  I don’t know that I’ll know what to do.

The new quarter officially starts on Monday, and it’s looking like it’s going to be another busy one.  I have Candies and Confections; Stocks, Sauces, and Soups; Petit Fours and Miniatures; Bakeshop Operations; and Baking Lab II this quarter.  Monday is my free day each week, and I’ll be working for my uncle those days.  However, I can look forward to no Saturday class this quarter!  I’ll try to keep you all better posted about what’s going on with me, but it seems like it’s going to be another crazy quarter.

Leave a Reply

