Break it Down

I’ve been out of school for less than a week.  But, this break is exactly what I’ve been needing.  It is going to be a short one, though.  I have this week and next off before my summer quarter classes start.  This week, I’m working 16 hours for my uncle and generally fooling around, staying up till all hours, and sleeping in.  I’m also finishing up my garden.  I just got everything but the cantaloupe planted yesterday.  I’m doing beans, red and yellow beets, tomatoes, green peppers, Brussels sprouts, basil, cilantro, and pickling cucumbers.  I’m going to try to grow some carrots in a couple of pots because my grandpa said our soil has too much clay to allow the carrots to grow the way they should.  Next week, my uncle’s normal assistant is on vacation so I’m going to be working 40 hours for him.  The money is going to be really nice!  I’ve been just scraping by (or not – I have a $0 balance at any given point in time right now), and this is going to make things so much easier for a little while.

On June 27, the summer quarter starts.  I’m doing a few required classes, but I’m also taking Beginning Swimming.  I sort of know how to swim now, but I don’t know proper technique or anything of that kind.  In the fall, I’m hoping I can take Swim for Fitness.  It will give me an additional way to exercise, which I like.  I haven’t been running, mostly because I’ve been lazy but also because I hurt my knee a couple weeks ago.  Basically, I was doing something dumb, and I hurt myself.  It’s getting better every day, but now I’ve got some really sore hamstrings from gardening, so no running for me for a little while longer.

The Farmer’s Market is still going well.  I like the people I’m doing it with, and we have a good time while we’re there.  We don’t make a whole lot of money, but it’s still pretty early in the season.  There isn’t much fresh produce out yet, but I expect that it will pick up once there’s more produce available.

I’m going to make this the most fun summer I’ve ever had.  I thought about it recently, and this summer will be the first summer since the one between junior and senior years in high school that I wasn’t romantically attached.  I plan on hanging out at friends’ pools, going bowling, partying as much as my funds will allow, and generally having as much fun as humanly possible!

The divorce is on the brink of being finalized.  I’m frustrated that a decision in which I wasn’t involved is having the most impact on me, emotionally, financially, socially.  I haven’t seen my therapist in over a month because I have been too busy with school stuff, but I have an appointment with her the Tuesday that summer classes start.  I have a lot to talk to her about, and I have missed having someone outside my immediate circle of family and close friends to talk to about how crappy some things feel right now.  Kathleen is always sensible and helps me get outside myself.  Being busy has helped, but it’s no substitute for a good therapist!

So, here’s to a summer of healing and fun!  I miss you all and wish I could share more time with you than by just posting to this silly little blog.

–Casey, break-dancing since 1992

Leave a Reply

