Medical Drama

My grandpa is in the hospital.  He’s been there for 4 weeks.  Right now he’s a unit one level below the ICU.  They took his gall bladder out earlier in the week because it was gangrenous.  They also discovered late last week that he has VRE, a bacteria that’s resistant to the usual antibiotic used to treat it.  The first 2 1/2 weeks, they couldn’t figure out why he was sick, so knowing some of what’s causing all this is good.  His wife, my step-grandma, had surgery to remove a mass in her colon on Thursday afternoon.  She’s in the hospital for at least 4 days, more if they think she needs it.

I’ve been pretty level-headed about this whole enterprise.  Grandpa’s 87.  He’s not going to live forever.  Marlene is 72, but she’s the most active, fit, and healthy person I’ve ever met.  She bikes and runs and hikes and eats whole grains and fresh produce all the time.  The doctors are very positive that she’ll bounce back from this and don’t think that the cancer has yet spread to her lymph nodes.

This morning, I checked my inbox, and it was flooded with e-mails from family.  They are a little crazy, but they’re trying to keep everyone in the loop about everything, so there are dozens of e-mails back and forth.  It’s a little much.  This morning, though, I found an e-mail with a picture attached.  It’s the first time I’ve ever thought that my grandpa may not survive this.  It was a picture of him in a hospital bed, and his wife (in full hospital gown, IV cart at her side) is standing over him, talking to him to see how he feels.  It doesn’t sound like much, but it’s one of those things that I just reacted to.  For the first time since this entire ordeal began, I’m feeling a little sad about it.

I hope that my step-grandma recuperates as well as they are expecting, and I hope that my grandpa is able to get home at some point.  I know that’s all he wants – to be home.

Leave a Reply

