Updates…It’s September Already?!

So, yeah, it’s September.  I’m as shocked as you are.  I can’t believe how quickly this year has flown by.  I thought this summer was going to be all leisurely and relaxed.  No way, kemosabe.  It was all kinds of strung-out, liquor-soaked madness fueled by sheer will and loads of caffeine.  My farmer’s market attendance has fizzled completely since the summer quarter started, mostly because I’m working at my uncle’s office all day Friday then racing down to Nelsonville to work at Rhapsody, the fine dining restaurant associated with Hocking College, Friday night.  It’s been sickeningly hectic, that.  I’m not really complaining, mind you.  It was poor timing and even worse planning on my part.  So, lesson learned.

There’s been some drama.  Not nearly as much as Spring quarter (it’s ridiculous how glad I was to see the back-end of that quarter) but enough to make me kind of hate my fellow students.  Most people are gone for the summer, so the drama has been short-lived and mostly uneventful nonsense.  I’m very grateful for that.  I don’t need the level of bananas drama I experienced last quarter.  It’s not sustainable, and I’d eventually go fully bananas myself if I had to endure that.

My nephew, Sam-pants, is getting bigger by the day.  At his 4-month check-up, he was measuring in the 90th percentile for height and weight.  He was around the size of the average 6-month-0ld at that point, and he’s grown since then.  He’s very chatty, and he just got his first tooth over the weekend.  He’ll be 6 months old this weekend (on Sunday, to be exact).  He’s very sweet and happy.  He kind of knows his name.  He responds to it about 75 percent of the time, which is kind of neat.  He’ll look in the direction of whomever is speaking and put on a big grin.  I noticed over the weekend that he’s got some Welsh facial expressions.  He furrows his brow like we do, and he raises a single eyebrow.  The only thing that would make him cuter would be a pair of dimples, which I’m a little bummed he didn’t get.

My sister got married to Sam’s dad over the weekend!  I did the cake and cupcakes for the wedding.  I was also the maid of honor, which was not as much responsibility as a typical wedding, just because I’m so darn busy most of the time.  I did give a toast, which was short and sweet.  I followed the best man, who was very emotional throughout his toast.  I didn’t want to do that, so I kept it kind of funny and light and loving.  Everyone agreed that it was good, especially after the best man’s toast.  We all had a blast.  My siblings were all in town for it, and as usually occurs, we drank far more than a reasonable person would find appropriate and proceeded to harass anyone within firing range.  A good time was generally had by all.

The summer quarter is ending this Friday.  I could not be happier.  I’m so burned out.  Living in my parents’ house hasn’t helped.  I absolutely adore my parents, but they have been working every frayed nerve I have this summer.  I can’t get away from them. I would love to leave the house without being peppered with questions, but that just doesn’t happen.  Ever.  I’m so tired of it.  I am actually thinking of getting another job and moving out when my dissolution crap is finally done. (I have to reside in the county in which I will be filing the paperwork for 6 months, so if I move down to Athens, which is my plan, I’d have to start the 6-month wait over.  Not.  Happening.)  I’m eternally grateful to them for taking me in, and I love them.  I am just too used to the autonomy I had when I was living away from home.  It’s not in the natural progression to live with your parents at 31 years old.  I need my own space, and I don’t have that here.  I have a room in their house and more questions from them than I care to answer.  Le sigh.  Hopefully it will be over soon, and I will be able to get on with my life.  Until then, living the dream in Lamecaster, OH.

Leave a Reply

